Monday, January 4, 2016


Title:  Betrayal
Series:  Infidelity #1
Author: Aleatha Romig
Release Date: October 13, 2015

One week. No future. No past. No more.
Alexandria Collins has one week to live carefree—no ghosts of her past or pressures of her future haunting her. Reinventing herself as "Charli," she is knocked off her feet by a sexy, mysterious man who brings her pleasure like she never imagined.  With her heart at stake, she forgets that decisions made in the dark of night reappear in the bright light of day.

"Some of my tastes are unique. They aren’t for everyone. I understand that.”

Lennox "Nox" Demetri is wealthy, confident, and decisive—he knows what he wants. From the first time he sees Charli at an exclusive resort, he knows he wants her. Although he is usually the one to make the rules, together they agree on one:  

One week. No more.

When betrayal comes from those closest to Alexandria, she must decide how far she is willing to go to survive. Choices are not always easy, especially when they involve the heart, body, and soul. After all, Infidelity is a business, and some rules are meant to be broken.

"Is it really cheating if you're doing it to yourself?"

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Aleatha Romig comes a sexy, new dominant hero who knows what he wants, and a strong-willed heroine who has plans of her own. With classic Aleatha Romig twists, turns, deceptions, and devotions, this new epic dark romance will have readers swooning one minute and screaming the next. Have you been Aleatha'd? 

BETRAYAL is a full-length novel and the first of five in the INFIDELITY series.

“Just know, Miss Charli, no last name, the next time you break one of my rules, I won’t respond as lightly.”
“You won’t?” I asked, more aroused than curious. “What exactly does that mean?”
He moved closer, seductively teasing my breasts with the presence of his wide chest. “I guess we’ll need to find that out together.” 
I had to lift my chin to see his eyes. The light blue sparkled with suggestions. The longer I stared, the more a part of me wanted to find out exactly what he had in mind. There was also a part of me that knew that wasn't a good idea. I shrugged nonchalantly. “Then I guess I better not break any of your rules.”
“Where’s the fun in that?” he asked.

“Oh, I believe I can be all kinds of fun.” I gasped as he pulled me nearer. My nipples—the ones that had softened during our conversation—were now hard nubs burning with desire as they were pressed against his broad chest. That wasn't our only connection that made my insides tighten. Lower, his hardening erection pushed against my stomach. 

When I first heard about Betrayal and the Infidelity Series I wasn't sure what to expect.  I don't like infidelity and wasn't sure I wanted to read a book about cheating, but I've loved everything I've read by Aleatha Romig so I decided to give it a chance, and boy am I glad I did.  

The title of the series is deceiving.  As it says in the synopsis, "Is it really cheating if you're doing it to yourself?"  Betrayal, and I suppose the entire Infidelity series is about Nox and Alexandria.  Alexandria has just finished undergrad and she and her best friend treat themselves to a resort vacation.  There Alexandria decides she's going to be someone different than who she normally is.  She's going to just let go for a week.  Then she meets Nox.  

Nox is older, more experienced, rich, and powerful.  He sees Alexandria (or Charli as she calls herself) and he decides to pursue her.  The two don't exchange full names, addresses, or anything.  They share a week of passion, knowing it's a one time thing.  

Alexandria has some parental issues.  We're not told exactly what happened in her childhood, but I'm assuming that will come out in later books.  Her family is very well off, but they expect her to do exactly as told and continue the good family name.  Alexandria wants to make a name for herself.  Something happened in the past and she doesn't want to be around her family.  

Towards the end of the book her family gives her an ultimatum.  Do what they say or be cut off.  I won't say which way Alexandria decides to go, but I will say that her week with Nox has definitely been a good thing for her.  

Nox is complicated himself.  He has recently lost his wife.  We're not told how, but it colors his decisions and actions.

I loved everything about this book and am extremely happy that I waited to read it because now I can read the next book in a few weeks.  I give Betrayal FIVE STARS!

Aleatha Romig is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who lives in Indiana. She grew up in Mishawaka, graduated from Indiana University, and is currently living south of Indianapolis. Aleatha has raised three children with her high school sweetheart and husband of nearly thirty years. Before she became a full-time author, she worked days as a dental hygienist and spent her nights writing. Now, when she's not imagining mind-blowing twists and turns, she likes to spend her time  with her family and friends. Her other pastimes include reading and creating heroes/anti-heroes who haunt your dreams!

Aleatha released her first novel, CONSEQUENCES, in August of 2011. CONSEQUENCES became a bestselling series with five novels and two companions released from 2011 through 2015. The compelling and epic story of Anthony and Claire Rawlings has graced more than half a million e-readers. Aleatha released the first of her series TALES FROM THE DARK SIDE, INSIDIOUS, in the fall of 2014. These standalone thrillers continue Aleatha's twisted style with an increase in heat. In the fall of 2015, Aleatha will move head first into the world of dark romance with the release of BETRAYAL, the first of her five novel INFIDELITY series. 

Aleatha is a "Published Author's Network" member of the Romance Writers of America and represented by Danielle Egan-Miller of Browne & Miller Literary Associates. 

Twitter: @aleatharomig  

No comments:

Post a Comment