Tuesday, February 2, 2016


Title: I Wish You Were Mine
Series: Oxford #2 
Author: Lauren Layne
Publisher: Loveswept
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: February 2, 2016

Perfect for fans of Alice Clayton and Emma Chase, Lauren Layne’s Oxford series heats up in this story of forbidden desire as a brooding jock hoping for a comeback falls for a woman who’s strictly off-limits.

A year ago, Jackson Burke was married to the love of his life and playing quarterback for the Texas Redhawks. Now he’s retired, courtesy of the car accident that ruined his career—and single, after a nasty scandal torpedoed his marriage. Just as he’s starting to get used to his new life as a health and fitness columnist for Oxford magazine, his unpredictable ex shows up on his doorstep in Manhattan. Jackson should be thrilled. But he can’t stop thinking about the one person who’s always been there for him, the one girl he could never have: her younger sister.

Mollie Carrington can’t say no to Madison. After all, her older sister practically raised her. So when Madison begs for help in winning her ex-husband back, Mollie’s just glad she got over her own crush on Jackson ages ago—or so she thought. Because as Mollie reconnects with Jackson, she quickly forgets all her reasons to stay loyal to her sister. Tempted by Jackson’s mellow drawl and cowboy good looks, Mollie is sick and tired of coming in second place. But she can’t win if she doesn’t play the game.

I haven't yet read the first book in the Oxford series, but I intend to, and to read more of Lauren Layne's books.  This was a sweet romance story.  Jackson was a professional football player, but when he was in a bad car accident he had to give up his football career.  His wife also left him at the same time.  

Mollie was Jackson's sister-in-law.  She had always been secretly in love with Jackson, but never acted on anything since he was married to her sister.  Jackson was Mollie's closest friend and he treated her better than her sister.  He was a big brother to her, but she had feelings for him.

It turns out that Mollie wasn't the only one with feelings.  Even though their relationship was somewhat taboo (because Jackson was the ex-husband of Mollie's sister) the two can't resist and do fall in love.  Mollie's sister then realizes what she's missing (and what's going on with Jackson and Mollie) and tries to get Jackson back.  

I really loved both of the main characters in this book.  Jackson is struggling with his new career and life and Mollie is just starting out in life.  Even though there's an age difference they are both essentially in the same position and they're perfect for each other.  They support each other emotionally.  Jackson is strong and sexy.  Mollie is too.  The book was steamy at times, but not too over the top.  It was a very sweet, loving, romance that was just what I was in the mood for.  I loved it.  I give I Wish You Were Mine FOUR STARS!



Lauren Layne is the USA Today bestselling author of more than a dozen contemporary romance novels. Prior to becoming an author, Lauren worked in e-commerce and web-marketing. A year after moving from Seattle to NYC to pursue a writing career, she had a fabulous agent and multiple New York publishing deals. Lauren currently lives in Manhattan with her husband and plus-sized Pomeranian. When not writing, you’ll likely find her running (rarely), reading (sometimes), or at happy hour (often).

No comments:

Post a Comment